Regular Board Meeting August 17, 2020 Page 2 of 4

The regular meeting of the Board of Education of Palestine Community Unit School District #3 was held at Palestine Grade School, 205 S. Washington St., Palestine, IL on Monday, August 17, 2020. The meeting was called to order by President Biggs at 6:00 p.m.

Secretary Hawkins called the roll with the following members answering present: Susan Hawkins, Tara Vennard, Donald Wagoner, and Corie Biggs. Absent: Jeff Besing, Lloyd (J.R.) Dunlap, and Shari Eckert. Administration present was Jessica Sisil and Tangi Waldrop. Others present were: Jana Bayne, Marcia Schmidlin, Brandon Sisil, and Caleb Will.

It was moved by Donald Wagoner and seconded by Susan Hawkins to approve the agenda. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Donald Wagoner and seconded by Tara Vennard to approve the consent agenda. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Shari Eckert entered the meeting at 6:02 p.m.

It was moved by Donald Wagoner and seconded by Tara Vennard to authorize the Superintendent to display the tentative budget. Roll call voting on the motions was as follows: Aye: Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Donald Wagoner to approve the High School and Grade School extracurricular lists for the 2020-2021 School Year. Roll call voting on the motions was as follows: Aye: Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Susan Hawkins and seconded by Shari Eckert to approve an agreement with Bushue HR, Inc. to provide human resources, safety, and consulting on a retainer basis for three years beginning September 1, 2020. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Continued;

Regular Board Meeting August 17, 2020 Page 3 of 4

Jeff Besing entered the meeting at 6:28 p.m.

It was moved by Donald Wagoner and seconded by Susan Hawkins to approve the rental of two rooms at the Grade School and one room at the High School to South Eastern Special Education. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Abstain: Eckert. Motion carried.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Jeff Besing to enter into Closed Session at 6:29 p.m. for the purpose of employment, appointment, resignation, and evaluation of personnel, matters relating to an individual student, and negotiations. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Returned to Open Session at 7:40 p.m.

It was moved by Jeff Besing and seconded by Tara Vennard to employ Holly Inboden as a substitute District custodian, and Scott Mendenhall as a full time District custodian, pending meeting all necessary requirements. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Donald Wagoner to approve a Memorandum of Understanding with the Palestine Education Association. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Jeff Besing and seconded by Donald Wagoner to accept the resignation of Scott Mendenhall as a regular bus driver and retain him as a substitute driver. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Tara Vennard to accept the resignation of Autumn Burkett as a Junior High assistant softball coach. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Continued;

Regular Board Meeting August 17, 2020 Page 4 of 4

It was moved by Jeff Besing and seconded by Donald Wagoner to approve Scott Mendenhall as a co-transportation director. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Tara Vennard to adjourn the meeting at 7:48 p.m. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Corie Biggs, President

Susan Hawkins, Secretary